PM Modi Inaugurates 12 New Airport Terminals Across India

With over 700 new aircrafts in India and even more to come, there’s a dire need for new airports and aerodromes. To tackle this, the Government of India inaugurated a dozen new airports and airport terminals across the country. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on 10 March 2024, inaugurated 12 airport terminals at a virtual event in Azamgarh, Uttar Pradesh.

Photo Credits: Unsplash

The cities that gained the new terminals are:

  1. Delhi Airport: The expansion of this terminal has doubled Terminal 1’s capacity to accommodate 4 crore travelers annually. It also joins the arrival and departure terminals now.
  2. Lucknow Airport: Both domestic and international flights will operate from the new Terminal 3. It will eventually accommodate 1.3 crore passengers annually.
  3. Uttar Pradesh: Except for Aligarh, Azamgarh, Chitrakoot, Moradabad, and Shravasti had Government airstrips that have been upgraded to airports.
  4. Pune and Kolhapur Airport: Both airports have one new terminal each. The new terminal in Pune will serve over 3,000 flyers daily. It also has more than 30 check-in counters.
  5. Gwalior and Jabalpur Airports: The new terminal at Gwalior Airport can accommodate 1,400 passengers daily during peak hours while Jabalpur can accommodate 500 flyers.
  6. Adampur Airport, Jalandhar: The new terminal will accommodate 5 lakh flyers annually, as compared to the old terminal which could accommodate only 30,000 passengers.